Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

0_equals_true
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2009, 10:55 am

Anyone not as smart, or don't have abilities that people preconceived you do. I have this problem, people think because I'm coherent then automatically I am going to be the same as another coherent person.

Really I'm a thicko, in many respects.

I think there is perception that certain abilities go hand in hand, which is not he case for neurodiverse.

Acacia
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2009, 11:04 am

I can identify with this. But it depends on the situation.
Like right now. I can express myself very clearly through writing.
I am usually eloquent and precise, if not a bit verbose and pedantic.
When people see my writing, I've had comments in the past about how I should pursue a doctorate, I should be published, I am a beautiful writer, a poet, etc.

This contrasts sharply with my speaking abilities.
When I speak, I fumble for words, stutter, say wrong things, speak too quietly or too loudly, drone on in a boring monontone voice, and so on.
So when people hear me speak, they think I must either be rather thick-headed, or just extremely anxious, or perhaps both.

So there can be misperceptions both ways.
I think of myself as somewhere in the middle of these two extremes.

robo37
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2009, 12:01 pm

It's the opposite way around for me, everyone thinks I'm stupid because of the way I act but I still keep getting the highest test result in my whole year (about 200 people) in maths and I'm in the top 95% in science. I also managed to make complicated games on PowerPoint that no one else knows how to make. I hate it when people say stuff like “He’s stupid him” and “Oh, he’s just a mong” when they talk about me.

Last edited by robo37 on 29 Jan 2009, 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Optician_Of_Urza
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

29 Jan 2009, 12:17 pm