Need ideas or help re: son's stim

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Gusmom2006
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

20 Feb 2009, 10:22 am

Hello,

This is my first time posting, my 3 year old son was diagnosed with Asperger's about 3 weeks ago. His stim was the first thing that we noticed.

He often runs around and hums or makes noises, he also will hum and flap his arms a little while he's eating at the table. He does not do this at preschool, probably because they keep him engaged and stimulated. He also will wake up anytime between 2:30am and 5 am and jump and hum make noises very loudly, he may do it for 20 mins and go back to sleep, or like this morning, 3 hours! I have a 1 1/2 year old little girl and she often hears this and wakes up.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can help him get back to sleep? This has been going on for about a year. An OT suggested a weighted blanket, I haven't tried it yet. Any ideas would be appreciated.

I was thrilled when I found this site, it is nice to have a place where I can ask questions!

Thank you!!

Sorenna
Veteran
Veteran

20 Feb 2009, 10:25 am

Welcome to WP!

You are a good mom to look and try to help your child! :-)

Sleep issues can be very difficult for autistic people. Some of us have used Melotonin. A weighted blanket may help, too.

I would avoid medication. That can get addictive and then stop working. Then you will k know the meaning of hell.

Just be very careful and don't take any advice without the help of a Dr that knows about autism! I hired a natural practitioner that help me very much. That might be an option.

GOod luck to you and I hope a lot of people wil answer.

ptown
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

20 Feb 2009, 1:00 pm