Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Pugly
Veteran
Veteran

03 May 2009, 8:15 pm

How come there seems to be less understanding and acceptance of a lack of social skills than other skills?

If someone can't fix their computer, they'll often just throw up their hands and ask me. It's not expected of them to know how to fix it... in fact it seems like a source of identity to some people. It seems like it's almost demanded of me to help some people, because it's what I do.

But if I have difficulty talking on the phone and going through the myriad of social situations every day, I can't ask for help. I can't just throw up my hands and say "I'm not good at working with people and communicating." No, it's expected of me to do all of this. Even though it's completely outside my realm of understanding... just like computers are of others.

There seems to be a double standard of abilities here. Certain skills, despite not being possessed by everyone, are expected of everyone. And other skills can be shrugged off as acceptable, and those who have those skills are expected to help those who don't.

Wanting more than what I have might appear as greed.

androol
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

03 May 2009, 11:44 pm

I suppose it's a lack of knowledge that produced a different type of treatment towards someone with asperger's. Most NTs do not have the experience or reference regarding the difficulties faced by aspies during social situations.

Everyone has encountered a computer iliterate, and that experience is a reference for subsequent encounters. Everyone thus understands and generally accepts a computer iliterate.

Aspies have not been in the spotlight for long. People just don't understand and thus are not able to tolerate.

WardenWolf
Veteran
Veteran

04 May 2009, 1:13 am