Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Venger
Veteran
Veteran

08 May 2009, 9:51 pm

I am pretty excited about this game. There hasn't been a new addition to the series for fifteen years. I played the NES version quite a bit back in the 80s. Also, I was an expert at Super Punch-Out!! on the Super Nintendo. I once played through the entire game without losing a single fight.

The new Wii version looks very good. It has boxers from both the NES and SNES games as well as new ones. It will let you use classic control since the motion sensor control from Wii Sports boxing gets old after a while.

Anybody else going to buy this when it is new later this month? It might be the most major Nintendo franchise game this year.

SabbraCadabra
Veteran
Veteran

09 May 2009, 1:48 pm

I'm pretty excited about it, but I don't have the cash =/ I ended up getting Guitar Hero: MetallicA instead.

Was also considering getting that new House of the Dead game.

Venger
Veteran
Veteran

22 May 2009, 8:56 pm

I got the new Punch-Out!! a couple days ago. It is much more like the NES version than the one for the SNES. I have got through the first two circuits so far without any help.

The only new character I've seen so far is "Disco Kid". The series has had a fifteen year absence, so I guess this is a good way to bring it back before Nintendo makes a completely new game.

SabbraCadabra
Veteran
Veteran

23 May 2009, 9:09 pm

Yeah, I was kind of sad to see the high scores totally absent, but it's still a pretty good game.

Reminds me a lot of Street Fighter IV...except with much better execution :oops:

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

26 May 2009, 10:53 pm

I was super-addicted to the NES version.

They had two different NES versions. One had Mike Tyson as the final opponent, the other had Mr. Dream as the final opponent (after Tyson lost to Buster Douglas in 1990, and thus, was no longer the undefeated heavyweight champion).

Venger
Veteran
Veteran

27 May 2009, 9:14 pm

Tim_Tex wrote: