Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

ngonz
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

20 May 2009, 9:18 am

My area has absolutely nothing for people with autism/Aspergers. I would like to start a support group for teens and young adults with Aspergers. I have no experience with organizing any kind of a group. I am also a bit handicapped in that area because I have Aspergers myself.

I would be grateful for any advice anyone can give me about starting a support group. I do want to be able to offer real help for people, not just a place for people to gripe.

www.neurointegrity.com

Learning2Survive
Veteran
Veteran

20 May 2009, 9:31 am

meet at a public library
advertise on Craigslist Activities section
call all local colleges through their disabilities office and ask to distribute a flyer with support group and for the staff to give your contact info to aspies
advertise on WP
PM WP members who live in your area
start a meetup.com group

read a book about being a facilitator of a support group

Zsazsa
Veteran
Veteran

20 May 2009, 9:36 am

In my community, I belong to a support group called "Advancement Square" that was created by the Kelberman Center for Autism. Individuals in our group are at least age 25 and older as there are other groups for children and teens. We meet one
evening a week, to get together...for a planned activity, like bowling or going to a movie that was previously prepared for in advance but, most times, we just get together at the Kelberman Center to talk and support one another. We have alot of fun.
Our group is run by one of the staff members at the Kelberman Center.

When the group first started, it was just a few members and someone who wanted to take the lead. Actually, the Kelberman Center was started by a group of parents who "saw the need"and created this facility, the Kelberman Center for Autism as
a kind of grass roots project. Many families move here to Upstate New York simply to be close to this outstanding facility that
the Kelberman Center has become.