Grad school or not? Desperately need advice.

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Wickerman
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

25 Sep 2009, 4:06 am

Okay, so I have a degree in psychology from one of the top five psychology universities in the US and since graduating a few years I have struggled to find gainful employment, spending most of my time unemployed with occasional part-time work here and there. Whenever I did get called in for interviews for good jobs, I always got rejected. I think I offended one interviewer by assuming he had attended that university, when he had not. The other instances were surely a lack of good eye contact, stammering, not being able to articulate answers that weren't rehearsed repeatedly beforehand (surprise questions are the worst), and general awkwardness. Well, my degree is from one the allegedly best schools because autism wasn't really covered in any of my courses and I had not even heard of Asperger's until a year after graduation. So that made me disillusioned with academia and psychology in general. Hey, that's pretty damn fail, yes?

Anyway, what I would really like to do is work in music, like at a record label or better yet, help put on shows and festivals*. However, this is highly unrealistic. It's too late for me to get any internships since I am no longer in school and pretty much every internship in California requires one to be a full time student and to prove it. Also, getting into an actual position at relevant companies is highly dependent on nepotism and I have no contacts that can help, or care to.