Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

GreyGhost
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

11 Dec 2009, 3:55 am

:( I hate my job. I work as a nurse aid. It is all about multitasking and working with people. These are both things I suck at. I'm going to quit but I have to completely change my lifestyle to do it. I am hoping these changes will bring good in my life but change is still scary and disturbing. Now that I have accpeted I have AS I have a better idea of what my needs are but I don't know a lot about different kinds of jobs. Are there special programs for people with AS who are looking to get a job or change jobs?

PlatedDrake
Veteran
Veteran

11 Dec 2009, 9:13 am

There are, but the best way to find them is through a case manager (least that's how i got mine). There should be some sort of Autism support organization (just google for one in your state and find the closest contact) and then they can direct you. However, a lot of these organizations require an official Dx so make sure that is taken care of and/or you're able to refer them to the person who did Dx you. However, given the economy, dont be shocked if it takes several months to find something that fits you. In the meantime, you could probably ask around at your current job and see what positions are open that could be less stressful (ie doing lab work or something).

TheMinnesotaIceman
Toucan
Toucan

14 Dec 2009, 10:45 pm

GreyGhost wrote:
It is all about multitasking and working with people. These are both things I suck at.

Me, too. The former is the main reason I can't drive. I heard that a lot of aspies can't drive, for the same (or a similar) reason. Can you?

As for your job, I hope you can find something that is both enjoyable and pays well. I haven't had a job in over five years.

metalrockpwnmusic
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

20 Apr 2010, 12:16 pm