Has software engineering become a bad career for an Aspie?

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

ACG
Raven
Raven

26 May 2006, 7:35 am

Hi! I'm working as a software engineer, and I'm starting to wonder whether it's time to change careers -- not because I've changed, but because the industry has changed.

When I started programming, individual programmers could write entire programs and simple games by themselves without any collaboration or standards to adhere to. You were in control of everything.

I've noticed, however, that things have changed drastically over the past few years.

1. Systems have gotten much more complex and require a lot of collaboration and communication between the various coders to get things done now. There is no longer any such thing as a programmre working by himself.

2. This increased complexity makes it impossible for one person to know the entire system, which leads to confusion and lack of structure since we don't see the big picture.

3. Although lack of structure doesn't matter when you have to deal with simple surgical strikes like a bug fix, almost all of the bug fixing (at least in my company -- I wouldn't be surprised if other companies do the same thing) has been outsourced to India for the past six months. Basically, they are changing my job description to give me just the really "hard" stuff by deliberately removing the stuff I'm best at.

4. Global competition has made everything much more fast-paced and pressure-packed than it was before thanks to the Internet and stuff like that -- technology which didn't exist in the 80's and 90's. Pressure itself is generally not a problem -- but when you have to interact with stressed out people that starts to take a toll.