Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Frieslander
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2011, 1:43 pm

I am at the stage (again) where I am thinking of what to do for a living. I want to do something in biology (I have a degree in it, and could go back for grad school).

But what do people do? My communication skills are not the best, in part because of my AS. most jobs in biology involve teaching.

MrMagpie
Raven
Raven

29 Jan 2011, 1:49 pm

I have a degree in Japanese language, and at the moment all of my job offers are along the lines of translation and interpreting. I think the communication itself only comes to easily to me because Japanese is such a rigid language. Every social occasion has its rules and scripts that you follow, so it isn't difficult to know what to say at any given time.

Most of my friends think I would make a good college professor, though.

Autumnsteps
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

29 Jan 2011, 2:11 pm

I'm a self employed jewellery designer and photographer. Am also studying for a social sciences degree

AKindOfJareth
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

29 Jan 2011, 2:20 pm

Computer programmer over here; though I've done a bunch of other stuff in the past.

sinsboldly
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jan 2011, 2:23 pm

I have cooked for a living, line cook, sauté chef, baker (this was wonderful, I just put on 'books on tape' on my walkman and cruised through cakes and pies and billions of cookies) before I got my degree.

After my degree (in Sociology) I was a Microsoft technical engineer and worked for a computer manufacturer as a telephone computer technician, guiding people in hardware and software fixes and modifications. After my job pool faded away to India I now do customer service work for not for profit health insurance company explaining Medicare to elderly people and their families.