Diagnosed With HIGH FUNCTIONING AUTISM: Someone Help me!

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Beelzerius
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

25 Sep 2011, 9:56 am

I am 21, have been diagnosed with HFA in Switzerland, Bern 2 months ago and, i am currently studying teaching profession even though the doctor who diagnosed advised me to study something related to my strengths since teaching profession requires a lot of social interaction etcetera.

1. This is my second week in the uni and i have issues remembering faces, but even more difficulties remembering their names. If my class mixes up with another group of students i get totally irritated. Most of them are like clones to me. It takes me a very long time to actually recognize them as different individuals.

2. The uni consists of 1000 rooms and 3 buildings. Sometimes i miss classes or even come to late because my orientation is really bad. The extent of my lack of orientation even goes as far as entering the wrong classroom twice or not noticing a certain door.
I seem to have this lack of quick perception.

3. When reading a text book i somehow forget 1 sentence after another, even though i understood it. Exceptionally long sentences are very difficult for me to understand since i tend to forget the first half while reading them.

4. I somehow have extreme difficulties remembering my phone number, numbers in general.

5. I have issues performing multiply tasks, a sequence of tasks, usually remembering just the last or first one of a sequence.

6. It irritates me and annoys me being together in a group. I try to prevent that. However when im forced working in a group or if a try to be sociable i either get treated as evil, as a social outcast, as completely weird, or people pretend i dont exist.

7. I feel no empathy towards others, and i do not understand when people laugh or sometimes even cry unless it is depicted in a extreme manner. Death and pain does not affect me emotionally.