How important is an official diagnosis?

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

venigma
Butterfly
Butterfly

22 Feb 2012, 8:51 pm

I am 26 years old and I've recently self-diagnosed myself with Asperger's (as a psychology/biology student, I've done plenty of research), and I'm totally itching to see a professional for an official diagnosis, but I'm not sure if that's just my desire for validation or if it may actually be useful.

Of course I had kind of a rough time growing up, especially socially, and it caused me a significant amount of emotional turmoil. I've been in therapy consistently since I was 13 (side note: I've been diagnosed with depression, generalized anxiety, social anxiety, panic disorder, bipolar disorder, and borderline personality disorder- I never felt like any of those conditions described my symptoms very well, though). As a result of my obsessively intense observation and introspection (and of particularly cognitive behavioral therapy and dialectical behavioral therapy), I've learned a lot of coping mechanisms for my symptoms, and these days people consider me "quirky" or "a little odd", but not to the point where it really affects my life anymore. That being said, I definitely see room for improvement, and there are a few areas of my life where I am still learning the skills I feel I need to function normally (such as my romantic relationship- but my boyfriend is understanding and willing to help with or without any formal diagnosis).