Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Dysmania
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

03 Oct 2015, 2:06 pm

Hey all. I'm a neurodiverse blog writer. It's a new blog and I'm looking for a second post. I am writing about how some small businesses and parents are making fake businesses with promises of curing the child.

I am debunking the science, and discussing the neurodiverse perspective. So I wanted to opinions from people who are affected.

1. Are you for or against a cure. (hypothetically, let assume it's possible for this question).
2. Would you want to be cured?
3. Do you feel autism is part of your identity?
4. Would you be the same person without autism?
5. How would you feel if your parents tried to cure you? (as a child)
6. What is a positive side of you being autistic?
7. What is the negative side to being autistic?

Thanks!

izzeme
Veteran
Veteran

05 Oct 2015, 2:39 am

1. Are you for or against a cure. (hypothetically, let assume it's possible for this question).
Not in and of itself, but i am against a mandatory cure; if an ND person is (legally) able to make decisions himself (akin to getting married, buying a house, that sort of legal authority), it should be that persons' own decision.

Me myself? No, there is nothing that needs a cure in me.

Yes. Autism shapes how i think, how i react to stimuly, how i see the world... basically everything that shapes an identity is also affected by autism.

Isn't this the same question as #3? no, i won't be, since autism is part of my identity; if you take it away, you change me.

No idea actually, my hypothetical thinking doesn't go that far without running into the realisation that it is, indeed, hypothetical

I see the world differently, i notice a lot more so i can take in beauty a lot better than the next person.
Also, i'm nearly immune to fads, fashion and ads, so that's a plus as well (they are aimed at NT minds, so they don't really work on me. "Everyone is doing X", "yeah? so what?")