Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

pawelk1986
Veteran
Veteran

22 Nov 2015, 8:00 am

I read an interesting article
http://www.newsleader.com/story/news/lo ... a/7641615/

About guy who from USA who was misdiagnosed as dump as kid and sterilized under Eugenic laws, he was later found normal intelligence and worked in Police and even FBI.

When I think about it, I think that if I were to place this guy, that if I was an FBI agent, is this what happened to him, it was me in his place, would contact the local residency of the KGB and sold for big money every "top secret" document I fell to my hands, why should be faithful to the country which hurt you.

ASPartOfMe
Veteran
Veteran

22 Nov 2015, 8:32 am

"America's shame" has become a cliche but in the case of eugenics it is as accurate a statement that can be made

Quote:
Nazi Germany adopted Virginia’s model for eugenics and applied an aggressive sterilization program that had many admirers stateside before World War II

Quote:
Nationwide, the brakes were applied for good in 1974, with a case out of Alabama that generated a federal lawsuit and Congressional hearings that exposed the injustice of eugenics, Lombardo said.

Wikipedia - Eugenics in the United States

So when Autism Speaks and others extensively use the "burden" language that was of often used by eugenicists, they pour money into genetics research and when taking into account the country where they were founded and are headquartered, suspicion that Autism Speaks has eugenics intentions is far from just paranoia.

It is Autism Acceptance Month

“My autism is not a superpower. It also isn’t some kind of god-forsaken, endless fountain of suffering inflicted on my family. It’s just part of who I am as a person”. - Sara Luterman

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

22 Nov 2015, 9:48 am