My parents want to make me drop out

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Writergirl53
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

08 Dec 2016, 4:03 am

Hi there, so hoping maybe people will have some advice or input that will help me to deal with this situation I'm in right now. So, I'm in my second year of university and I'be been struggling with attention issues and time management issues, well since always, but this year has been really bad for me with all of that stuff, and recently I had kind of a blow up where due to my learning disability that makes concepts like time and space really hard for me, I thought it was one week earlier than it was and managed to miss a quiz thinking it was this week, (it was last week,) and then a midterm thinking it was next week, it was the day I thought the quiz was. Anyway my dad just had to ask how my quiz went and since I can't lie and he wouldn't take no for an answer I was forced to tell him and he says he sees it as a sign that I'm not making it and I'm going to flunk out, so now he says that he wants to pull me out of university before finals so the grades don't go in and force me to do lifeskills training for a couple of years. I'm so conflicted. On the one hand, I really don't want to leave my friends here, and I love living on my own and going to university, but on the other hand lately things have just been so hard and I've been feeling more and more like school isn't just for me. I don't know what to do, and even though I know she's trying to be strong for me because she knows how much I'm hurting right now, I know that this is killing my roommate who is also one of my best friends, and it hurts me to hurt her this way even though I have no real control over this situation right now. :( I hate that my parents are so strict. Even if they might be right they always treat me and my education as a financial investment before they treat me as an independent person with my own thoughts and feelings.

Darmok
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2016, 4:18 am