Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

olivejuice
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

30 Dec 2016, 7:40 pm

Hello,

I'm one of those rare female Aspies and it feels like I've paid dearly for being born this way. I still lack a formal diagnosis because I am struggling to find a mental health care provider that takes my insurance in my state in the USA. I'm in my 30s now and life has been brutal without proper help or support. There has been a lot of abuse because I don't sense danger in social situations well. As far as the mental health care maze goes... I have been misdiagnosed at least a dozen times, if not more. I give such literal answers to questions and I truly don't know how to advocate for myself. Ugh. I'm still trying, though.

I used to be quite smart and capable. I was a very talented musician, particularly on piano. I was also gifted in math and economics. These days it is a struggle to do basic things like get dressed or leave the house -- even eat. It's difficult to imagine turning this situation around, but I'm still trying.

Darmok
Veteran
Veteran

30 Dec 2016, 7:54 pm

olivejuice wrote:
I used to be quite smart and capable.

I can certainly relate to that part. I think you'll find some other people here with similar experiences. There's a chance that this coming year will turn things around, so there's hope.

Welcome.

There Are Four Lights!

voidnull
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

30 Dec 2016, 7:58 pm

Hello olivejuice, welcome to WP =]

Yours is a very familiar situation here, through the abuse, nightmare social situations and the list of misdiagnosis. Hang in there, it gets (much) better, I promise you.

-Especially now you're able to confide in and get help from fellow Aspies.

ChangelingGirl
Veteran
Veteran

31 Dec 2016, 12:15 am