What do you need for sustainable/meaningful employment?

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

silverhuang
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Mar 2017, 6:48 am

Hi all,

My name is Silver Huang and I'm new to Wrong Planet :)

I'm an autistic twice-exceptional doing biz-dev research into how to help high-functioning autistic adults create sustainable and meaningful vocation and employment.

As we all know, we autistic adults are not suited to the social design of conventional employment. Conventional jobs have invisible and unspoken social and environmental requirements that we struggle to fulfil. As a result, we struggle with even finding and holding suitable employment, much less meaningful and sustainable vocation. The physical and mental health impacts are vast and severe and unemployment rates are high.

I would love to request your input: What do you think/feel you need for you to create sustainable and meaningful vocation and employment as an autistic adult?

Thank you in advance and looking forward to your responses! :heart:

Silver

Gardiad
Butterfly
Butterfly

11 Mar 2017, 10:52 pm

I can't say much as I have only had one job and it wasn't for too long.

I feel though that what'd help most of all is a bit of understanding from other employee's or especially management, I feel we can thrive if we are met at a sort of half-way post.

Probably that's been said a lot. If you have any advice to throw back at me I'd gladly accept it. Also a newbie here

Five six seven, open up the pearly gates
Ain't no time to wonder why
Whoopee we all gonna die.

C2V
Veteran
Veteran

12 Mar 2017, 4:57 am

Uggggh, my pet peeve!