Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Julu
Butterfly
Butterfly

25 Mar 2017, 7:05 pm

Hello, I'm a newbie here too : )
I had the realization 2 years ago that I might be on the spectrum. Well I always suspected something was 'wrong' with me, but could never pinpoint what. I had read about autism but I always thought I can't be autistic, because I'm an adult and had coped fine for most of my life. It wasn't until I read about the traits in women that it finally all started to make sense. That actually I could be on the high functioning end of the spectrum.. that I had been just 'coping' and covering up all my life... that back when I was in school, kids didn't get diagnosed with aspergers.

I cried at first, even though I was still in denial.... it's not so simple to get a diagnosis where I am and I am too scared to bring it up with my family or friends. The only person I've talked about it to is my partner, who has an autistic relative and actually it's helped our relationship, since it explained some of my behavior. I spent a long time just researching about autism,doing online tests, trying to figure out if I really do have this, or it is just in my head... and I can say I definitely sway more towards autistic then NT.

Taking steps to understand myself, and using all the wonderful resources available (including this forum where I've already been lurking) have helped me learn ways to cope and pull me out of depression and anxieties I always seemed to be plagued with, that I realize now were related in a lot of ways..

Anyway, I didn't mean for this to be so long and rambling :oops: . But it feels good just to write this down and share it in a place where people get it

BrokenPieces
Veteran
Veteran

25 Mar 2017, 9:28 pm

Julu wrote: