So... this is kind of a weird situation.

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

rats_and_cats
Veteran
Veteran

03 May 2017, 2:17 pm

I was on another social media site and somebody said they're feeling suicidal and really need to talk to someone. I started chatting with them online. And he felt better after talking to me, but he wants to be friends and I don't think that's gonna work out for several reasons.
1. he lives in Sweden and I live in America
2. he's in middle school and I'm in college
3. he refuses to seek professional help
4. he self harms which is beyond my ability to talk about because I have no experience with it
5. I have my own mental health issues and I don't have the energy to play counselor
I have no idea what to do. I don't want to be the only person responsible for this kid's mental health because he refuses to talk to anyone else, not even his parents. He says he's too scared to seek professional help but he's not nearly as worried about talking to a stranger on the Internet? I felt like I couldn't say no to being friends with him because he was considering suicide. I think I might have gotten myself into a toxic friendship. He seems to benefit from having someone to talk to but it's a drain on my own mental health and he needs more help than just a friend. And he needs friends his own age from his own country.
There is every possibility he could be lying and I could be talking with a creepy stranger who wants to know where I live, but I'm not sure how to tell if that's the case.

ZachGoodwin
Veteran
Veteran

03 May 2017, 4:30 pm

Politely reject the offer and focus on something else.

Shahunshah
Veteran
Veteran

03 May 2017, 4:41 pm