NT seeking answers from those who are on the spectrum

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

NTlovesHFA
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Jul 2017, 5:54 am

Hello!
I am new here. I have a couple of questions, because I am trying to understand my boyfriend, who has high functioning autism, better. I understand everyone is different. That is true for NTs and from what I read is true for people who are on the Autism spectrum. I have made mistakes, because I have issues myself and, though we've been a "couple" for several years now, I am still learning about his needs and issues.
The main problem is his job and the tremendous responsibilities, stress and pressure that he has been under for the last couple of years. When work is going badly there are long periods of time that I won't hear from him. I'm talking many months. We had a great couple of years, but then his work situation changed.
He knew things were going to get bad at work (New big projects and dozens of problems following the projects) and told me some things before it started - that he wanted me to wait for him (I asked if he wanted me to wait.) and that he wanted to marry me (eventually, whatever that means).