Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

SomethingGenuine
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

29 Jun 2023, 12:08 am

Okay quick rant. I hate when employers put job listings under "Entry Level" when they require 3-5 years in a certain industry. Like I am a recent college grad so I require experience; but they won't hire me because of my lack of experience. It's really stupid. How are recent college grads supposed to get a job if they have 0 experience.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jun 2023, 12:20 am

How, you say?  Internships and part-time work in a related field before graduating college.

While earning my EE degree, I stocked shelves at a local electrical supply warehouse, ran the counter at a Radio Shack store (R.I.P.), and did occasional gigs as a Production Assistant at the college TV/Radio station.  None of the work required a degree, and the pay was nothing to brag about, but I can honestly say that I had ". . . 3-1/2 years of part-time experience in retail electrical/electronics and TV/radio broadcasting".

Retail provides experience, and maybe just enough pay to carry you through until you get a more technical position.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

29 Jun 2023, 12:49 am

SomethingGenuine wrote:
Okay quick rant. I hate when employers put job listings under "Entry Level" when they require 3-5 years in a certain industry. Like I am a recent college grad so I require experience; but they won't hire me because of my lack of experience. It's really stupid. How are recent college grads supposed to get a job if they have 0 experience.