New here from the Land of the Almighty Potato

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

AutieRob
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Aug 2023, 9:57 pm

This is my first post here. All my life I was associated with weird and the older I got, the worse the stigma got. I went undiagnosed because it was the late '60s and autism was seen as something different in society. In that era, the only mention of autism in pop culture was the Mannix episode "Chance Meeting", whereas a very young girl being raised by her father had it. She was nonverbal in the episode. This was when autism was a one-in-a-million affliction.

Throughout school years, the rep stayed with me. I was labeled as "ret*d" by many students and faculty between 1972 and graduation in 1986. I sought no further education because I'd had enough of people and just wanted to get into the job/vocation world. That eventually happened with contracting in 1988; by 1996 I was a flooring contractor and doing very well with performance and reputation. I got married in 1992 & became an instant stepdad, eventually had a daughter.

Things were going well enough despite many various episodes which interrupted my career & family life. In 2003 I was hit by severe fibromyalgia and both my career and marriage were finished. A formal diagnosis in 2007 ruled out MS, a prevalent condition in my family line, and established fibro.