Do panhandlers / hobos make you nervous?

Page 1 of 5 [ 77 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

marshall
Veteran
Veteran

19 Aug 2007, 6:25 pm

One time this guy came up to me and started talking to me. It was so weird because he didn’t even ask for money. He acted friendly started asking me questions like if I was married and what I did for a living. I tried to play along but obviously I was nervous. After a while he started saying some very strange things that I could hardly understand. I’m guessing he might have had schizophrenia or something. He asked if I was nervous because he was black. I wanted to tell him that wasn’t the case, but I had nothing to respond. At that point I tried to walk away but he followed me. I eventually just showed him a five dollar bill to see if he would leave me alone. It worked and he took off. I wasn’t really afraid for my safety as I’m I big guy and this happened in broad daylight with other people around. It was just awkward.

Now I pretty much don’t even look at panhandlers or homeless people for fear they might bother me. I don’t have enough money myself to be giving people handouts. Sometimes I feel bad about being afraid of them though.

pandabear
Veteran
Veteran

19 Aug 2007, 7:50 pm

I see the same panhandlers on the same spot every day. They don't make me any more nervous than anyone else.

Aspie1
Veteran
Veteran

19 Aug 2007, 8:16 pm

I usually look straight ahead, and don't make eye contact with the panhandlers. On some occasions, I'd quickly say: "I don't have change, sorry." One time, when the person was asking he strange questions, I picked up phone (pretending that it just rang while set on vibrate), paused for a few seconds, the said: "Are you serious? He's in the hospital? Which hospital!?" The panhandler who was about to hassle me for money got a really uncomfortable look on his face. I gave him an "I got bigger problems now" look, and took off.