Anyone here make their own games too?

Page 1 of 2 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Esme
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Oct 2023, 8:21 am

I started off as a gamer back in the day, but gradually switched over to wanting to design/create my own games. I'm currently building a 3D RPG that's a mix of elements of games I loved playing, and now I actually prefer working on that to playing them.

I still watch playthroughs of new games that come out. But more for research. I can't help thinking 'oh, I like how they've done that', 'I wonder if I could add something similar', 'how do the mechanics work for that thing', etc.

Does anyone else here have any involvement in developing games (or have an interest in learning)?

Readydaer
Veteran
Veteran

22 Oct 2023, 8:33 am

I certainly have an interest in learning, and I have loads of great ideas, but I'm only an excellent writer and pretty good composer (composing only, I'm not good at making full fledged songs!). I've tried coding and it's just so hard to wrap my head around. My main interest right now is making a Touhou-style bullet hell shooter but no luck so far.

One day I want to be a narrative writer for video games

blitzkrieg
Veteran
Veteran

22 Oct 2023, 8:35 am

Even if a person knows how to code a game, it will probably only be a rudimentary game since mainstream type games that are playable on consoles or PC's tend to have bigger budgets and lots of manpower to make them, relative to a single individual doing it as a hobby.

Esme
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Oct 2023, 1:11 pm

Readydaer wrote:
I certainly have an interest in learning, and I have loads of great ideas, but I'm only an excellent writer and pretty good composer (composing only, I'm not good at making full fledged songs!). I've tried coding and it's just so hard to wrap my head around. My main interest right now is making a Touhou-style bullet hell shooter but no luck so far.

One day I want to be a narrative writer for video games