Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

aspie28
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

06 Oct 2005, 6:12 pm

I work for a small company that ships out steam cleaners and fabric steamers. I don't really have an "official" title but basically I'm in charge of coordinating truckload shipments and individual shipments to customers. I've been working there for about 6 months and really feel comfortable there. Every shipping document and label must be 100% correct or there can be problems. So I can really focus and zone in on what I'm doing while keeping track of which shipments go when in my mind. So far I haven't made any "big" mistakes and they are amazed at my performance. I was wondering if I should tell a select few of the "higher-ups" that I've been diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome. The biggest reason is because I really like the way they do business and treat other employees and customers. I want them to know about me. I do not want a change in attitude towards me or even a change in evaluation. It's more that I think they should know my strengths and weaknesses in a more detailed way. Let me know your thoughts...

Jeremy

joku_muko
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2005, 6:20 pm

Thats really a personal decision. I can say there have been positive and negatives. The reason I disclosed when I was hired at my current job was I was unemployed for a year and really desperate and in a bad place. I would be working with people with disabilities and I thought it would be to my advantage to disclose I had AS. If I had not disclosed I also probably would have been fired. I have to take a week off about every 3 months. This always is a RIGHT NOW situation & if they didnt know like I said would have been fired.

BeeBee
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2005, 7:13 pm

Quote:
It's more that I think they should know my strengths and weaknesses in a more detailed way.

Then it makes more sense to tell them your specific strenghts and your specific weaknesses.