How do I develop a UWP Windows 10 app without Visual Studio

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

EphraimB
Raven
Raven

Joined: 4 Nov 2015
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 100
Location: Far Rockaway, NY

03 Apr 2016, 7:16 am

Unfortunately, my computer doesn't meet the hardware requirements of Visual Studio which is at least 1.60GHz. My computer is at 1.51GHz. Is there anyway for me to develop Windows 10 Universal apps without Visual Studio 2015?


_________________
My neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 151 of 200
My neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 70 of 200
I'm very likely neurodiverse (Aspie)

My personality type: INTJ-T


dcj123
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 2 Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,796

03 Apr 2016, 11:47 am

1.51 Ghz of what kind of processor?

See
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Megahertz_myth

I would not give up that PC can't run Visual Studio 2015, is it a Desktop? Is overclocking an option? Is there a demo version you can test?

Holy crap, Microsoft doesn't say what kinda of processor is needed to run Visual Studio 2015. Does Bill Gates not know that clock speed is a horrible way to compare speed?



EphraimB
Raven
Raven

Joined: 4 Nov 2015
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 100
Location: Far Rockaway, NY

03 Apr 2016, 12:04 pm

It's a Microsoft Surface Pro 4 m3 processor


_________________
My neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 151 of 200
My neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 70 of 200
I'm very likely neurodiverse (Aspie)

My personality type: INTJ-T


dcj123
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 2 Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,796

03 Apr 2016, 12:13 pm

EphraimB wrote:
It's a Microsoft Surface Pro 4 m3 processor


Google reveals that should work, I have found a few links to support this if you want I'll link them. I'd hate for you to buy something that doesn't work but google Surface Pro and Visual Studio and everyone says it works great. Even on the Pro 3 which I assume is weaker than the Pro 4. Seriously with the i5 and i7 processors that these things pack, I can't imagine it being slow. You might just have long compile times but the application should run. I just saw a video of Skyrim running on one of these things on youtube, surely Visual Studio would work.



EphraimB
Raven
Raven

Joined: 4 Nov 2015
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 100
Location: Far Rockaway, NY

03 Apr 2016, 12:19 pm

I don't have the i5 or i7 processors. I have the m3 processor. Here's my exact processor:

Intel Core m3-6Y30 CPU @ 0.90GHz 1.51GHz


_________________
My neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 151 of 200
My neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 70 of 200
I'm very likely neurodiverse (Aspie)

My personality type: INTJ-T


Trogluddite
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 2 Feb 2016
Age: 50
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,050
Location: Yorkshire, UK

03 Apr 2016, 4:13 pm

As long as you can stand the ridiculously long download process, I would suggest just getting the free version and giving it a try to see how it performs. I've been using VS2015 for a while now, and the free edition seems much more capable than it was for older versions of VS.


_________________
When you are fighting an invisible monster, first throw a bucket of paint over it.


Edenthiel
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Age: 53
Gender: Female
Posts: 2,820
Location: S.F Bay Area

03 Apr 2016, 10:39 pm

VS15 Pro hardware requirements:

1.6 GHz or faster processor
1 GB of RAM (1.5 GB if running on a virtual machine)
10 GB of available hard disk space
5400 RPM hard disk drive
DirectX 9-capable video card that runs at 1024 x 768 or higher display resolution

Given the low bar they are setting & the assumed era of those baseline specs, I'm confident that the 1.6 Ghz refers to something like a first gen i3, or even a Core 2 duo - your CPU is faster (ie can do more work) at a lower clock speed. I *know* VS15 will install and run on a Core 2 duo w/ 4 GB ram as that's what some of our older 'loaner' laptops are at work.


_________________
“For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love.”
―Carl Sagan