Freaked out by AS/HFA diagnosis, mixed advice

Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Adamantium
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2013, 4:22 pm

Hi everybody,

My 11-year-old son was just diagnosed with AS.

I was really surprised by this. I found it hard to believe, but perhaps that is the result of ignorance on my part. I am studying hard, now.

He has a group of friends he really gets along well with in the neighborhood, but they don't see that at school. Are there a lot of "false positives" in AS diagnosis? He has problems working with groups at school. He has meltdowns, maybe twice a month. He has some anxiety and at times is a little obsessive. He has trouble writing and tying his shoes.

He is a great reader and conversationalist. He loves astronomy and physics. He does have some "sensory issues" --certain sounds are totally intolerable to him. He has three or four really good friends he hangs out with after school and on the weekend. He loves riding his bike, shooting video and playing Minecraft, Skyrim, Portal, TF2, etc. He has a great sense of humor.

His psychotherapist is adamant that he should not be diagnosed with aspergers, in fact he should not even have an IEP. If he can't tie his shoelaces or write fluidly, it is poor parenting that are at fault... We should ignore his sometimes debilitating anxietyand proceed as if he was not in the grip of these fearful thoughts. This therapist says we need to get him out the public schools and into a private school that will cultivate his gifts in math and science. The other issues will be resolved with discipline. He must learn to tie his shoes!