What behaviors should change...if any...

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

ohboy
Butterfly
Butterfly

21 Jun 2013, 4:09 am

I'm new to writing on these forums, but have known for yrs that DS is an aspie. Are there certain behaviors that should be encouraged to improve on? Affection, certain social skills, specific fears?

For instance, giving affection. He's always backed into me for hugs and I've taught him to face me. He's totally uncomfortable, but he does it. He just doesn't give affection and I know it bothers him that his siblings do that so easily. I think he wants to, but can't figure out how to initiate it. Should I encourage him (or is it even possible) in this area? Meaning, one day he'll date or have a wife and I'm wondering how all of that will work. She will need a hug and kind words and without that, a marriage would be difficult. Am I making sense at all?

He also has sensory issues. Through much struggle, we got him to work through his fear of escalators. I dont' know why that one was so important to us, but it was (but maybe really shouldn't be). We don't go on certain rides at an amusement park not because of speed or heights necessarily, but because of sound. He does little yard work because of his fear of bugs, so one day he'll either have to work through it, get a really good job to pay for landscapers or live in the city. We look the other way when he casually covers his ears for certain loud sounds.

His social skills with friends are awkward, of course. They'll say hello and he'll sometimes say "what", as in "what do you want". He rarely smiles when they greet him and they often do a double take and walk away. I do encourage him to smile and explain how important that is and I try to give him ways to greet friends and initiate conversation.....but like affection, even though I model it, he either refuses or just has some mental block and can't smile and say hi.