Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

siuan
Veteran
Veteran

07 Nov 2007, 3:20 pm

I called about getting speech therapy for my son, who has a mild PDD-NOS diagnosis. He's two next month. And they told me that their only services are through MR/DD. They explained some of it. They seem extremely ill-equipped to handle this. Clueless. So I'm on my own.

Did I mention I HATE IT HERE!! !?

If anyone has any suggestions, helpful hints, things that worked in the home, etc., please let me know.

blessedmom
Veteran
Veteran

07 Nov 2007, 3:51 pm

I have some experience with facilitating speech in young children. Maybe I can give you some ideas as far as things you can do at home.

And you may want to look into signing if he is having trouble communicating. I have children in my care who have signed and they have all done very well.

What troubles is he having with his speech?

siuan
Veteran
Veteran

07 Nov 2007, 4:10 pm

We just started teaching him sign language, and he seems to be willing to use it. So far (since we started at Halloween) he can sign "candy", lol, and "up". He understands the signs for eat, up, down, hungry, socks, shoes, pants, shirt and hug. We have a DVD (Signing Time) on it's way.

His speech is delayed. He's turning two next month and he basically hasn't progressed since he turned one. He has about 7 words. Very very recently, within the past week or two, he has begun to show interest in words more. Up until now, there has been no imitation (he smiles or ignores you if you tell him "Say cat!" or the like) and he has never imitated tone. We just want to get him communicating so he isn't so terribly frustrated. I'm hoping now that he has interest, it will work better.

Now he sits in front of his Baby Einstein show and when they say "BOAT", he will babble something fairly close in length to the word boat...though it sounds nothing like boat and is not said in the same tone as the narrator said it. But it's progress, and I'm excited about it!