How would you describe the prosody of your speech?

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

What best describes the prosody of your speech?
Normal (typical) 7%  7%  [ 3 ]
Fast rate, normal prosody 17%  17%  [ 7 ]
Slow rate, normal prosody 7%  7%  [ 3 ]
Flat intonation 12%  12%  [ 5 ]
Variable intonation (sometimes flat, sometimes not) 34%  34%  [ 14 ]
Unusual and idiosyncratic intonation 22%  22%  [ 9 ]
Total votes : 41

LostInSpace
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jan 2008, 11:26 am

Prosody is the rhythm, stress, and intonation of speech. I'm doing my Masters thesis on prosody in autism, and although I wouldn't be able to use this data for my thesis, I thought it might be interesting to see what people said.

So, how would you describe your prosody? Have other people commented on it? Has it ever been targeted in speech therapy?

sinsboldly
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jan 2008, 11:48 am

people thought I was this little English girl living with lower middle class family in Wichita, KS in the 1950's. I actually had this speech mannerism that just sounded 'British' clipped, stilted and incredibly formal. Mom always wanted to give me 'elocution' lessons, but never did. I make my living by talking on the telephone, and appeal to my clients who are older folks on Medicare. They appreciate the formality, the almost exaggerated respect and succinctness of my phrasing and clarity of my enunciation.

Talking on the phone eliminates reading body language, facial expressions and other non verbal cues. It forces them into my world of that 10% that is conveyed through speech and words. I get a lot of information out of them and get them the information they need, so it works out for both of us. However, when I answer, they invaribly state "Is this a real person?" " are you a recording?" "am I speaking to a live person?" and sometimes I have to actually convince them of the fact that I am, indeed, a warm body on the other end of the phone.

we all find our niches, eh?

Merle