What if being yourself isn't the best option.

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

15 Jan 2007, 12:53 pm

I've heard it many times bofore from my mum. "Just be yourself and people will like you". Well, that's what I've been doing here, for the past twelve months and a bit. I've found that it's not always the best option, if you want to be friends with people. I find that I need to start being all things to all members. Talk about what they want to talk about, instead of going on my tangents about Vintage 1954 - 2005 London. I've had a whole year to expose my bleeding heart. Now it's time that I go back to my pre - 2006 habits, post about the Routemaster between every three days and three times a day, like I did with Austin Powers and Carnaby Street, durring my first months here, between 2004 and the end of 2005. My coming username will motivate me to be able to do that. "Just be yourself and people will like you", was a saying that was made-up by a person who couldn't have much, no matter how much they've tried.

alex
Developer
Developer

15 Jan 2007, 12:58 pm

It seems like being yourself has worked generally online. Most people here like you.

However, I think it's great that you want to become interested in other member's issues and interests.

In the real world, "being yourself" is a complicated process that involves a whole lot more than the "be yourself" saying would lead you to believe. I believe this simplification causes confusion. I think the statement is misleading because it implies that "being yourself" means "do whatever you want" which sounds like a good idea, but generally gets you into trouble.

logitechdog
Veteran
Veteran

15 Jan 2007, 1:03 pm

Well to be yourself is true but you got to learn to negotiate a little, means other words you don't need to lie or fake yourself or go out of your way for people to like you, people who care don't matter but people who matter don't care...