Scary experience! Has this happened to anyone?

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Eunice
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Mar 2014, 12:48 am

Hello, Community.

I am new here, my name is Eunice. I registered in January, but have not been on my computer much, so have not been active. Anyhoo, I have a question. I want to know if anyone else has experienced what happened to me.

I know sometimes I have difficulty recognizing faces if the persons are new to me, or they are people I don't know well, and I see them out of context. I also find that I can hyperfocus when working alone on a task at times, to the point that I am somewhat disoriented if interrupted. However, in the situation I am referring to, I was at work (I work as a produce clerk) stocking apples. If you don't pay attention to what you are doing, they can topple down. A coworker arrived, and for about 4 seconds, I could not recognize him! I did not know his name, or the context in which I knew him. I thought that maybe he was someone I worked with on a previous job, but even though in fact we worked for the same company previously, I only met him at our current store. I knew he was familiar but could not recall how. This was terrifying, as it has never happened to me with someone I knew well, talked with every day, and am very familiar with their face. It reminded me of a time where I had fainted, hit my head, and lost my short-term memory for several minutes.

I had been diagnosed with Aspergers, and am wondering if anyone else on the spectrum has experienced this. I am uneasy, because my mother developed early onset dememtia, and as I turn 48 years old this month, I am concerned about that for me, as well. I am wondering if what I described is a brain-on-autism sort of experience, or if I need to consult a neurologist! Thanks, folks.

wozeree
Veteran
Veteran

09 Mar 2014, 12:51 am

Eunice wrote:
Hello, Community.