Does it help to tell people you have ASD?

Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

bee33
Veteran
Veteran

19 Jul 2023, 6:21 am

Do you think it helps or makes things harder to tell people that you are autistic? For instance, if you are in a conversation and you realize that you are not understanding the vibe or what the other person is expecting you to say, or how to react, does it help to mention something like, "I'm sorry, I'm not good at detecting vibes or nuances, because I'm on the spectrum?" Or something like that.

Or does it not help because people don't know enough about autism to understand what you mean? Does it just add to the miscommunication? Or does it make it worse because they think you're making excuses, or even lying?

theboogieman
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

19 Jul 2023, 12:29 pm

I suppose it depends who you're talking to and how informed of autism they are.

In the last few months, I've been saying something along the lines of "I often have a harder time understanding non-verbal cues because I am likely on the autism spectrum [just got the confirmation today!], so if you need something from me and I'm not picking it up, feel free to tell me to my face. It won't hurt my feelings and will make both of our lives easier."

In dating, this has especially been helpful. I recently got a girlfriend and I've found this allows our communication to work in a manner that allows us both to understand what the other wants and needs. I suppose time will tell if this strategy really works, but so far, this is the most connected I have ever felt in a relationship.

autisticelders
Veteran
Veteran

19 Jul 2023, 4:21 pm

sometimes I ask people to explain again using different words and I will say something like "I have sensory processing difficulties sometimes" They might cut me a bit of slack in intense conversations and try again.