Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Sephiroth_52
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

13 Jun 2009, 8:11 pm

I can't help but wonder who here plays guitar.

I started playing guitar about 8 years ago. I'm not a pro by any means, but I think I'm pretty good. I can play along with songs on the radio, for instance.

I play a Fender Strat knockoff with heavy guage acoustic copper wounds on it (My thickest string is .056 since I'm trying to make my fingers stronger). I play Drop-D tuning and I am considering buying a bass, because chords are especially hard for me since I do not have full mobility with my left pinky finger, since it is way shorter than my other fingers (for the most part) and also due to past hand injuries. Playing Guitar Hero has helped me learn to use my pinky more, albeit with limited use (it hurts when playing GH, and can only reach three strings on the real deal.)

I like playing riffs from bands like Tool, Metallica, Santana, Days of the New and generally anything catchy that's not pop or punk.

So, back to the root question. Do you play?

protest_the_hero
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jun 2009, 9:00 pm

I play electric guitar.

DarrylZero
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jun 2009, 10:30 pm

I've been playing guitar for about 14 years, mostly blues or some jazz on my Strats (SRV is a big influence). I'm impressed by your use of heavy strings. For a while I had to make my own set using 12-56 gauge strings (standard tuning), but repeated hand injuries pretty much forced me to tone down to a set of 10's. I haven't actually played for a while because I've had too much going on recently, including an accident where I pretty much filleted my left index finger when I slipped with a knife...it's healed (more or less) with no nerve damage, but it's still a little too sensitive. If you go to the Member's Only forum under the "What do you love?" thread and find my post you can see a picture of my gear.

Wilco
Toucan
Toucan

14 Jun 2009, 12:37 am