Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

MrLoony
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jun 2009, 3:06 pm

I can be very talkative. I'm very opinionated and I have a lot of knowledge in my areas of interest. As my mother has mentioned, conversations with me tend to turn into lectures.

"Hey there!"

"..."

"What's up?"

"..."

This is not an uncommon scene in my life, either. Every once in a while, even if someone is actively trying to get an answer out of me, I simply cannot make words come out of my mouth. Even if I know what I would say, I can only communicate in gestures. It is especially common when I do not think I'm going to have to talk. I know it's not related to depression; I have none of the other signs of depression.

Has anyone else had this happen?

sgrannel
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jun 2009, 3:35 pm

Yes, a lot. It's easier for me to go through the mechanical motion of doing something than to say it, with humorous effect. My speech can at times be sparse and delayed, and my issues with loudness, monotone, accents etc. don't make it easy either. Issues with knowing what to say, freezing, and drawing a blank when it comes my turn to keep the conversation going, have made other people uncomfortable and have also caused me to act unpleasantly in a near-meltdown state. Forget about having me say grace at holiday dinners, too, because I also draw a blank on that one. The movie "Meet Joe Black" has a scene where Joe has to say the Lutheran Grace, and I think these instances are really just a way to trip people up and categorize them as not belonging if they don't know the *right* words.

But a dog knows his boy can go wrong

MONKEY
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jun 2009, 3:44 pm