If you can't read facial expressions...

Page 1 of 3 [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

GreenGrrl
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

28 Jul 2009, 2:10 am

What do you see on people's faces if you can't read the expressions? Do they all just have 'blank' looks on their faces, or do you see an eyebrow move, lip curl, etc. and you just don't know what it means?

Electric_Kite
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jul 2009, 2:28 am

I just don't know what it means. I can often figure it out, but I'm often wrong, and I'm often too slow at figuring it out to react appropriately.

buryuntime
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jul 2009, 3:31 am

I don't notice facial expressions because I don't look at people's faces... when I do look at their faces I don't notice those things. I look at their mouths. I had no idea people actually... I don't know, used their faces in that way until I started learning about having AS.

DaWalker
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jul 2009, 3:33 am

Prosopagnosia is something that I have two different diagnosis of.

The first was IMO, a very unprofessional cookie cutter paper trail type diagnosis.

According to that one, I am face blind, (and a very long list of "others") although I can recognize people after the third or fourth meeting, rarely the 2nd, and never if only seeing someone in passing.

However upon a much more lengthy detailed and intense study of all the contributing factors to my personal condition, it was decided that the fact I don't look at peoples faces with any interest. I was asked what color his secretaries eyes where, I was asked with his back turned to identify his nose and mouth from a chart, I was asked to pick a sketch that looked like his intern. Passed with flying colors, though his secretary was of extreme interest to me, and his intern was a tease and laughed alot, and I have known him for quite some time.