Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Space
Veteran
Veteran

07 Sep 2009, 5:33 pm

Long story short, I finished my undergrad degree. Hated school, wished I was dead, gave up hope etc. Now I'm going to do a trade (I may get a job as soon as next week). But when I tell people that, they say "You're too smart for that" and "Don't sell yourself short, you're smart" etc. Telling me that it's hell spending your life working on a construction site with redneck alcoholics who don't give a damn if you have a brain or not.

I wanted to go into law a long time ago, but gave up on it for various reasons. Someone was pressuring me to think it over really hard, lest I look back 20 years from now and regret the life I chose like he did. I just feel like I'm screwed no matter what path I take, but people tell me I've "got the world by the balls."

I don't have a really high average (mine is 72.something % for the whole 4 years). Haven't done the LSAT.

I've heard so many bad things about law... I don't know if I'd ever follow through with it.

I just don't know what I should be doing with my life I guess. Time to go to a career counselor maybe.

ratonlaveur
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

07 Sep 2009, 8:10 pm

Well I never looked into law programs, since I'm in public health, but on the plus side, a JD is a terminal degree that can expand your career options the same way that a PhD or MD can, and on top of that it's typically only 3 years. On the minus side, all the law students I know tell me that it's really boring. But I guess it's the end result that matters.. you're not going to be a law student forever.

Apep
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

07 Sep 2009, 9:36 pm

Law school is where many intelligent people go who don't know what to do with their lives. It's a tradition.