For the scientists and science grad students here

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

MunkySpunk
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Sep 2009, 7:07 pm

One of my first posts here, and I wasn't sure where to put this, because it's science related, but also grad school related.

Forgive me if this has been posted before. I can only find the Google custom search, and it's kind of rudimentary. Me not finding a previous topic on this was not for lack of effort.

To the Aspie scientists here:

Normally I don't really tell people I meet everyday the exact details of my work, just say 'I'm a researcher' and leave it with that. Mostly I fear coming off as a holier-than-thou jerk and making the other person feel like they're low-brow. Here at WP I've noticed there's a MUCH higher population of scientifically minded folks, so I don't really feel like I'm rubbing anything in anyone's face here.

I'm a molecular biologist, PhD'd and employed. I work in a lab on cancer research. Some of you may know what I mean: giant freezers, western blots, cell culture, qPCR, conferences, Sigma-Aldrich, PubMed etc..etc..

Anyway, I seem to be Aspie-light in many categories, with heavy doses of certain other aspects: childhood bully-magnet, opinionated non-filtered mouth, nonexistant small-talk ability, and I'm a regular pro at alienating people, among other not very handy talents.

I've been wondering how the Aspie nerds like me out there deal with certain aspects of the science scene. So I've got a few questions: