Re-establishing Contact: How do you do it?

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Nitz
Raven
Raven

26 Feb 2006, 9:06 pm

This is something that I've been having some trouble with lately; even though I do have friends, a great many of them I've lost touch with, and haven't spoken to in months, even years. I suppose part of it is my fault, because I'm not very good with initiating contact and calling people, but these people aren't doing their part to try and contact me either, so I don't know if contacting them would be a welcome suprise or a rude interruption. As hard as it is for me to contact someone I don't know in the first place, it's even harder to contact someone I haven't seen in a while, because I don't know if they want to hear from them. This is as true of real life friends as it is of online-only friends, many of whom I've lost touch with, even when I very much wanted to keep talking to them.

Does anyone have any advice as far as how to re-establish contact with old friends? In other words, is there any special way of going about contacting someone without being obtrusive?

ELLCIM
Veteran
Veteran

26 Feb 2006, 9:35 pm

Nitz wrote:
This is something that I've been having some trouble with lately; even though I do have friends, a great many of them I've lost touch with, and haven't spoken to in months, even years. I suppose part of it is my fault, because I'm not very good with initiating contact and calling people, but these people aren't doing their part to try and contact me either, so I don't know if contacting them would be a welcome suprise or a rude interruption. As hard as it is for me to contact someone I don't know in the first place, it's even harder to contact someone I haven't seen in a while, because I don't know if they want to hear from them. This is as true of real life friends as it is of online-only friends, many of whom I've lost touch with, even when I very much wanted to keep talking to them.