Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

MichelleRM78
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

02 Mar 2010, 1:28 pm

Hi,

I am new to all of this, but I have a concern and am hoping maybe someone has had a similar situation. My boyfriend's son (almost 9) has characteristics that seem to align with asperger's. He is an average student. He doesn't feel anything for anyone (or so it appears). He doesn't hug. He isn't affectionate. He never asks anyone questions. He is socially ackward in most situations. The only humor he "gets" is potty humor. I am severly concerned for this child.

Neither of his parents think its a big deal. They think he is just "shy." I really would like them to get him evaluated. How do you go about doing that?

Thanks for any ideas,

Michelle

DW_a_mom
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2010, 2:06 pm

The things you've mentioned aren't very conclusive, but sometimes a third party has a fresh look on a situation that parents may have missed. Still, you can't really make any of these choices or assessments for the parents - they have to see it or see a need for it, and trying to get them to see it when they don't wish to can be really tricky.

If the child is AS and the AS is impairing his performance at school, the school can be asked to make an assessment. If there is no academic hook, you go through the pediatrician. Neither process is quick or easy; often parents have to really push to get it done, particularly when a child is high functioning and the condition isn't obvious to someone who sees the child for only a few moments at a time.