roryboryalice
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

09 May 2010, 1:33 pm

Hi All-
I am new to Wrong Planet.

I suspect my BF has ASD.

He is an LPN. I am an RN.

He states he has expended all loans & grants. I find this impossible, but he won't give me enough details at this point because he has gone into severe depression over losing a job (long story short...anger outburst on his part...why I looked into ASD & suspect it from other research & speaking to others with it. He has many aspie traits).

Is there anything out there to assist him with this. He has a brilliant mind and could go much further, even to become a doctor. Or a vet, because of his inability to deal with people.

Any advice would be appreciated.

He has difficulty holding down a job and many courses he looked into could be done online at his own pace, which I feel would actually be quite fast.

Thank You

kip
Veteran
Veteran

09 May 2010, 2:13 pm

Well the Pell Grant is available to all qualified people who have less than a bachelors. It's a federal grant, right now my sis gets a little over 5k a year for school. It's not much, but it pays for classes at community college with a bit left over for gas and such. The only qualification is that you be a US citizen. He should look into it, fill out the FAFSA and it's offered right then and there.

?the end of our exploring, will be to arrive where we started, and know the place for the first time. - T.S. Eliot

AardvarkGoodSwimmer
Veteran
Veteran

09 May 2010, 8:39 pm

roryboryalice wrote:
. . . Is there anything out there to assist him with this. He has a brilliant mind and could go much further, even to become a doctor. Or a vet, because of his inability to deal with people. . .

Or medical research. And besides potentially doing more good, with research, any way if which you're different, offbeat, quirky, that plays to strength.