Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

menintights
Veteran
Veteran

09 Sep 2010, 11:30 am

Has anyone figured out how to be a better listener?

Tacobean
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

09 Sep 2010, 12:08 pm

I used to be a horrible listener as my mind kept searching for context and was filled with more of my own thoughts than the other's words. This would lead to total miscomprehensions and silly things out of my mouth (along with rude interruptions because my impulse to speak seemed to take over my ability not to).

I did a business diploma after finishing HS and in communications they taught us that the human mind thinks at approximately 1,000 words a second whereas a speaking person can only say about one word per three seconds. The way to listen is concentrate on their voice. If you think in pictures, you just fill in one in your head as they speak, if you think in words, imagine each word in your mind as the person says it. Making your mind do this takes up most of the thinking space and allows you to ask questions when they finish if you need to get further information to understand.

Hope this helps :)

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

09 Sep 2010, 12:28 pm

Thank you for the tip. I'll start applying it, the next time somebody delivers me verbal information. :)

pgd
Veteran
Veteran

09 Sep 2010, 1:13 pm

If you have central auditory processing disorder (CAPD), you may find it helpful to take written notes and then read the written notes so you use your visual sense to understand vs your auditory one. You could tape record a conversation (pocket tape recorder) and play it back. In some cases, doing less talking may help being a better listener. Sometimes there may be no quick and easy solutions to being a better listener especially when part of the challenge involves working memory/short term memory. Good luck.

menintights
Veteran
Veteran

09 Sep 2010, 1:28 pm