Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Descartes
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 4:32 am

Have you ever seen a person whom you had never seen before, and just decided instantaneously that you disliked that person, without even saying a word to them?

I recall a year or so ago, when I was still in high school, I saw this one guy in a muscle shirt. He looked very shady and, frankly, a little douchebagish, and I just got negative vibes from him.

At the same time, when I was a freshman in high school, I became friends with this one girl who told me that she originally got bad vibes from me because she thought I didn't look like a very nice person. It was sort of funny. :roll:

Has anyone ever had this kind of experience?

Asp-Z
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 5:04 am

Yeah, I think everyone who can read facial expressions gets this, but I try to ignore it because I know it's stupid to make any kind of judgment about people you've never even bothered to get to know.

auntblabby
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 5:45 am

the reptilian part of my brain makes me very wary of people who remind me of bad people i knew before.

CaptainTrips222
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 6:08 am

Everyone has. I refuse to allow myself to be so stupid though.

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 6:18 am

CaptainTrips222 wrote:
Everyone has. I refuse to allow myself to be so stupid though.

Yes, sometimes you have a negative reaction for reasons that are not valid. I have had negative first impressions and

then later gone on to have a wonderful friendship with the person because I chose to listen to my reason and not my

little lizard brain. I think instinct is valid but should always be tempered with reason. Sometimes the negative feelings are

our own problem, not theirs.

Chronos
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2010, 6:35 am

Descartes wrote: