Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

havacat19
Butterfly
Butterfly

15 Jan 2011, 2:13 pm

I wondered if constant anxiety is common in AS? I am new to group here. ..how do you relax when you're. 'out in the world'?

Wallourdes
Veteran
Veteran

15 Jan 2011, 2:28 pm

I've experienced it and I've seen people here talk about it to variable degrees.
I even got a theory running concerning the effects of stress on the human body and mind related to autism (link).

Relaxing while you are 'out in the world' can be done by taking a sensory break. Breathing excersises, stretching, meditating, keeping yourself calm, etc.

Preparation can help too. Taking enough rest and relaxation, sports/yoga, ritual, diet, writing down/expressing your frustrations.

Cheerfully,
Wallourdes

havacat19
Butterfly
Butterfly

15 Jan 2011, 3:13 pm

Thank you Wallourdes~i am not sure I have AS but have been on meds effort anxiety~do many AS people end up on meds?

locster
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

15 Jan 2011, 3:14 pm

havacat19 wrote:
I wondered if constant anxiety is common in AS? I am new to group here. ..how do you relax when you're. 'out in the world'?

I asked this over on the livejournal aspergers group a while ago, quite a few people responded - I got the impression that it's a common problem, maybe about 50% of aspies.

For me anxiety is *the* main problem as it's continuous, all day every day and it makes doing anything and everything a battle. Work in particular is difficult because I work in an open plan office and get very anxious if there is someone sitting nearby facing me (which is basically all day). I get the startle reflex going if the phone rings and I get anticipatory anxiety if, say, I know the phone is going to ring. Frankly it's perghas best described as living in pergatory. This has been going on my whole life, although you don't realise what is wrong when you're younger of course.