Question for mods about being a mod

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

LostAlien
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2011, 7:03 am

Hi,

My bf has been asked to be a mod on a forum and is not sure what being a mod intails. I know that the mods on WP are really good so I just thought I'd ask here for him.

What are the things expected from a mod and what are the best ways of dealing with issues (ex. rule breaking etc.)?

Thanks for your time and I hope I put this in the right forum.

leejosepho
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2011, 8:25 am

LostAlien wrote:
What are the things expected from a mod ...?

I am a rookie moderator with only a few days' experience at that, but my overall experience on forums suggests expectations can vary greatly from one forum to the next. Overall, however, moderators seem to be responsible for keeping things running along smoothly.

LostAlien wrote:
... and what are the best ways of dealing with issues (ex. rule breaking etc.)?

My own approach is mostly only theoretical so far, but I intend to stay out of "story problems" (dramas) and just deal with people individually and in the same way I want others to deal with me: honestly and straight-up ... and I get my role model from an old movie called "Road House" where rule #1 is to "Be nice" and to not start anything inside the place.

Edit: To help with my own getting broken in here, I would appreciate hearing what anyone/everyone else here on WP would say as to expectations of a moderator and how problems should be handled.

Asp-Z
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2011, 8:39 am

leejosepho wrote:
I am a rookie moderator with only a few days' experience at that, but my overall experience on forums suggests expectations can vary greatly from one forum to the next. Overall, however, moderators seem to be responsible for keeping things running along smoothly.

...And accidentally removing bits of posts ;)