Problem with career-personality matching tests..

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

AllieKat
Toucan
Toucan

03 May 2011, 3:41 am

Okay for those of you who've used today's "standardized career-personality" matching tests such as the Myers-Briggs and the John Holland's career inventory, what was your impression?

My main problem is those tests only ask what you're interested in rather than testing your actual skills.

I am not good with "advanced computer skills" or troubleshooting problems with computers yet I often get "programmer" or "web developer" as one of my top careers on these tests. (I'm not a technophobe either though) I think I can just use the applications (word, excel) at a basic proficiency level and design webpages using templates (no HTML skills) and that's it. I have to call on my tech savvy friend (who is NT BTW) if I run into problems.

I am good with arithmetic and basic algebra (not good with higher math though) but have a difficult time catching small errors. Yet, "accountant" also comes up quite a bit (I think I might be okay with just basic clerical accounting with built in check systems but not sure about the ability to advance beyond that).
I am terrible with nonverbal expression but I got actress once when I answered the Holland inventory in a slightly different manner than usual with a focus on enjoying "creative things" like writing, editing, and painting.

Is there any free online test that measures your skills (okay, they can't measure your facial expressions) but that measures your math and writing ability in conjunction with your preferences?

If you know of any, please post them on here.

Thanks,
Allie Kat

http://www.myaspergerslifestory.com/

zer0netgain
Veteran
Veteran

03 May 2011, 7:11 am

Just because you have an aptitude for something doesn't mean you would enjoy doing it.

I can program computers, but I think doing it for a living would frustrate me more than anything else.

AllieKat
Toucan
Toucan