Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

jonnyeol
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

20 Aug 2006, 8:08 am

I've been flat-sharing with a couple of friends for the last 18 months. And I'm starting to suspect that we won't be friends any longer if things carry on the way they are. I wasn't aware until I'd already committed, but the other two people involved are a couple (they were keeping it secret until a difficult ex was out of the picture). The them-and-me divide is growing. Conversation with the male half of the couple is becoming difficult - with the female half, it's impossible. I talk to the cats more often.

To make things worse, they don't think I do enough to keep the house clean, even after a concious effort to improve my ways (it's clean enough for me, just not them) and as a frustrated single man, a happy couple under my nose is becoming increasingly grating. Also, (and here's the Aspi bit), I don't think they can handle my 'slightly odd' behaviour. They seem very sceptical of how I live my life - they don't seem to accept that I'm not going to change. They knew about the AS beforehand, but never realised exactly what it entailed until we shared accomodation. For my own part, I find their apparent standards unattainable.

But neither do I want to leave anyone in the lurch. They're still friends, and I want it to remain that way. But I'm starting to believe our differences are unresolvable. 18 months is long enough to work that out. A cleaning rota or lengthy chat don't really seem sufficient to close rifts like these.

Has anyone else been in similar flat-sharing difficulties? Has anyone had difficulties in getting non-Aspi's to accept your behaviour in close company? Would I be better on my own?

donkey
Veteran
Veteran

20 Aug 2006, 8:15 am

better on your own.....just so much easier to write and it is the best answer.

lostatlimbo
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

22 Aug 2006, 2:59 am