Even for an Aspie, I am so socially inept. Never had a GF

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Adam82
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jun 2011, 3:20 am

Not once. And I'm nearly 29! I am convinced there's something seriously wrong with me. I am a Masters graduate, and I'm currently a full time English teacher, but I've never had a relationship of any kind, with a female. I want a long term relationship, and I would actually like kids one day. But as I get older, I become more and more disillusioned that it will never happen. I have liked a few girls in my time. But it has never been reciprocated. The latest one is a friend, but she's with another guy, so there's nothing I can do.

Are there any late bloomer Aspies here, or even married ones, that can give me some ounce of hope? Because I see all these teenagers and early 20s Aspies on here saying they've had b/gfs, which makes me feel very behind and inadequate.

Thanks
Adam :)

ScientistOfSound
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jun 2011, 3:43 am

Have you ever considered online dating before?

Adam82
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jun 2011, 3:46 am

ScientistOfSound wrote:
Have you ever considered online dating before?

Never.

Tehsbe
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Jun 2011, 3:50 am

Try online dating, get into some hobbies that might attract the kind of girl you like (eg Get a puppy, it's amazing how well i've seen this done), and most importantly, learn how to make her laugh, but not with traditional jokes, just by slipping in snarky little comments into conversation. My rule of thumb for flirting is to poke fun and make them laugh at the same time *Disclaimer: Don't do this for first impressions, for first impressions, just try making them laugh.
If you make her laugh, she'll remember you.

starryeyedvoyager
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jun 2011, 5:57 am

Adam82 wrote: