UK Apserger / ASD and Romantic Relationships Research Projec

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

simberg
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

02 Nov 2011, 11:12 am

Hello,

I am a Trainee Clinical Psychologist in London and am carrying out research, as part of my doctorate, on romantic relationships in which one of the partners has a diagnosis of an Autism Spectrum Disorder (including Asperger’s Syndrome). I am making this post to ask whether any members of this forum resident in the UK would be interested in taking part in the project, or would like to pass on details of the project to other individuals who might be interested.

The research concerns ways in which people with ASD and their partners experience closeness in their relationships. For the research, I aim to interview both people with the diagnosis who are in a relationship, as well as 'neuro-typical' individuals in a relationship with someone with ASD about their experiences. I am able to conduct face to face interviews for those living in or around London, or, for those in other parts of the UK, telephone or e-mail interviews are also an option. Unfortunately I am unable for this study to include individuals living outside the UK or who do not have English as their first language.

At present, very little research has been carried out regarding romantic relationships in which one or both partners is affected by ASD. I therefore hope, through the project, to develop a greater understanding for professional and research communities of the values, experiences, and needs of people with ASD and their partners.