Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Tamsin
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

06 Nov 2011, 12:20 am

Warning: This message may not entirely make sense.

Lately I have been feeling like I am losing my mind. I am a writer and have been writing stories and poems since I was 12. When I was 13 I actually wrote about 20, maybe more, pages of a fantasy novel. Now I'm 21 and I can only wish that someday I will be as productive again.

A few months ago I decided to try writing again and it was disastrous. Last month I had to write an essay for my college application and that was probably the worst piece of writing I have ever written. When I was in 7th grade my English teacher actually told me he thought my writing was so good that I should be published and I know he meant it. Now I look at my writing and want to cry it's so horrible.

What I've been noticing for the past few months is that I have a very hard time putting my thoughts together. I think of something I want to write, and then I go to write it but it doesn't make sense and it doesn't flow. It's very disjointed, repetitive, and just all over the place. And I always leave something out, something that I meant to write and just forgot about.

It's not just writing I've noticed this in. Quite often I find myself wanting to say something out loud to somebody, so I try to say it, but I forget a certain word or it just doesn't make sense. EDITED: I've also found it harder to actually care about what people are saying to me. It's just like it takes too much concentration that I don't have, so why even bother.

This is very hard for me because I've always been able to express myself through writing, but now even that is too hard. It takes too much thought and concentration and I usually give up after a few minutes. It's also hard when I see a post here that I want to respond to, so I try to type something out only to have to not make sense, so I delete it and just don't respond at all.