My new washing machine...and is DIY dead?

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Concretebadger
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

24 Nov 2011, 3:36 pm

As I type, my new washing machine is finally working. Just as well really, since I'm currently wearing my last clean change of clothes... 8O I had a bit of trouble with the water supply but my dad stopped at my place on his way home from work and sorted the problem out. He's not a plumber by trade but it got me thinking: is DIY dead?

It seems that us young people are far less savvy with practical jobs...my grandparents used to go on about 'throwaway society' and how we don't fix stuff any more; we either get a pro to do it for us or replace whatever's broken with a new one. I'm starting to agree with them.

Is this the last remnants of the 'make do and mend' mentality that sprung up during WW2, or is it something different altogether? Are more recent generations turning out like helpless children? The complexity of cars and gadgets is increasing of course, so the amount of repair the owner can do without a professional's help is less than it used to be. Maybe that's it.

I'm genuinely worried that I won't be able to use practical skills - be it installing electrical appliances, fixing the car, or simply knowing how to use everday tools - like my parents and their parents did. Not that I plan on having kids, but still.

Beyond my own irritation at having to call my old man over just so I could wash my undies, I'm starting to wonder if I'm part of the first generation who can't wire an electrical plug or put up a shelf...

1000Knives
Veteran
Veteran

24 Nov 2011, 3:41 pm